Artwork wins Walker Station Elementary 5th grader Caribbean cruise

Teresa So earns top honor in 2016 Adopt-A-Beach Children’s Art Contest

Contact: Brittany Eck
(512) 463-5708
PDF Version
PRESS RELEASE — Apr 07, 2016

AUSTIN — Teresa So, a 5th grader from Walker Station Elementary in Sugar Land, Texas, is the grand prize winner of the 2016 Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Treasures of the Texas Coast Children’s Art Contest. Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush selected Teresa’s art from more than 5,000 entries submitted statewide. The annual competition encourages schoolchildren to learn more about the Texas coast and express what they’ve learned through their art. Open to grades K-6 across Texas, the contest motivates thousands of young artists each year. 

"With more than 5,000 entries statewide, the 20th anniversary of the Treasures of the Texas Coast Children’s Art Contest has broken all previous records," Bush said. "This contest is a great way for young Texans to learn about the natural beauty of our precious coast and to demonstrate their creativity. Having so many young artists participate this year made the decision especially difficult, but Teresa So's submission stood out due to her attention to artistic detail and careful depiction of the Kemp’s ridley sea turtle, one of five of the world’s seven sea turtle species known to call the Texas coast home.”

Teresa So's artwork, along with 39 runners-up, will appear on the cover of the 2017 Adopt-A-Beach calendar. The artwork of all winners will be on public display in the South Central Gallery of the Texas Capitol May 24th – 31st for all visitors to view and appreciate. The exhibit will be sponsored by Representative Wayne Faircloth (HD 23, Galveston).

Teresa So's winning artwork earns her two round-trip coach-class tickets from United Airlines to any United destination in the 48 contiguous United States, Alaska, Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean, one 7-night Caribbean cruise from Royal Caribbean International departing out of Galveston, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, Port Canaveral or Puerto Rico and a class party at Schlitterbahn Waterpark in New Braunfels.

The grand prize winner's teacher, Karen Germany, also receives two round-trip coach-class tickets from United Airlines, and one 7-night Caribbean cruise courtesy of Royal Caribbean International.

Ten winners were chosen from each of four grade-level categories (K – 2nd, 3rd – 4th, 5th and 6th) for a total of 40 winners. All 40 winners will receive a ticket to the Texas State Aquarium in Corpus Christi, a ticket to the Exhibit Hall at the Houston Museum of Natural Science, a ticket to the Houston Zoo, two all-day passes to Schlitterbahn Waterpark in New Braunfels, a certificate of recognition and prizes from the Texas General Land Office and a calendar displaying the winning artwork.

To learn more about the Adopt-A-Beach program, visit or contact the GLO at 1-877-TX COAST. Like us on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at @TXadoptabeach.


2016 Treasures of the Texas Coast Children’s Art Contest Winners

Finalist Name

School Name


Kindergarten – 2nd Grade



Reid Ballard

Wall Elementary


Colton Claybar

Little Cypress Elementary


Clay Darby

St. Mary School


Amadeus Kwan

First Foundations Pre-School


Audrey Li

Roosevelt Alexander Elementary


Alanna Sun

Lakeside Elementary


Lilian Sanchez

Castaneda Elementary


Nathan Taylor

Harvey Elementary


Khloe Troup

Welder Elementary


Katelyn Vera

Clear Fork Elementary


3 – 4 Grades



Sara Arellano

Athlos Leadership Academy


Katherine Bong

Blackland Prairie Elementary

Round Rock

Vanessa de la Torre

Terrace Elementary


Elton Huang

Roosevelt Alexander Elementary


London Jones

Bay Colony Elementary


Makayla McLemore

Martins Mill Elementary

Ben Wheeler

Celeste Pecina

Park Place Elementary


Arjun Pemmasani

Falak Art Studio


Kaylen Smith

Our Lady of Victory


Meaghan Williams

Home School

Corpus Christi

5th Grade



Rudy Aguilar

Burnet Elementary


Deborah Bong

Blackland Prairie Elementary

Round Rock

Eve Brogger

Our Lady of Victory


Karen Cui

James E. Randolph Elementary


Seth Fatuch

Home School


Maxine Fraser

Pease Elementary


Kasie Kujawa

Terrace Elementary


Amaya LaFleur

Lorenzo de Zavalla Middle School


Teresa So

Walker Station Elementary

Sugar Land

Hagen Swoboda

Our Lady of Victory


6th Grade



Maya Abrol

Dallas Arts Studio


Alexander Adam

Polly Ryan Middle School


Sarah Culpepper

Our Lady of Victory


Juhyun Lee

Cedar Valley Middle School

Round Rock

Joangelina Perales

Driscoll Middle School


Esmeralda Ramirez

Lucio Middle School


Sloane Solomon

Polly Ryan Middle school


Chloe Storm

Lake Travis Middle School


Janijara Un

Westbrook Intermediate


Anna Valenzuela

Our Lady of Victory




More Press Releases